Domestic Violence Attorney in Minot, ND
Ready to Protect Your Rights, Reputation & Freedom
Although we love and care deeply about our spouse, significant other, or family members, disagreements come from time to time. Unfortunately, when an argument becomes physical, you may end up facing domestic violence charges in North Dakota. Getting convicted of this serious violent crime can lead to harsh criminal penalties and cause irreparable damage to your professional reputation and personal relationships.
If you are being accused of domestic violence, do not hesitate to let our legal team at Rowenhorst Law defend you and obtain the most favorable outcome in court on your behalf. We can investigate your case, gather and analyze evidence, negotiate with the prosecution, and help you avoid serious penalties or even a conviction altogether, depending on the facts and circumstances of your case.
Contact us today at (701) 203-9220 for a free initial consultation. Learn how we can help you during this difficult time.
North Dakota Domestic Violence Laws & Penalties
Domestic violence occurs when a person willfully causes injury to a family or household member. Additionally, domestic violence can take the form of psychological abuse, sexual abuse, or even financial abuse.
In North Dakota, if a police officer has probable cause to believe that a person has committed a domestic violence offense, then the primary aggressor will be arrested. The officer does not have to witness the offense or find other witnesses to make an arrest.
If a person intentionally or knowingly causes bodily injury to a loved one, then the first offense is considered a Class B misdemeanor, which carries a maximum jail term of 30 days and/or a fine of up to $1,500. A second or subsequent offense is a Class A misdemeanor, punishable by a jail sentence of up to 360 days and/or a maximum fine of $3,000.
If a person intentionally or knowingly causes substantial bodily injury to a loved one, then the first offense is a Class A misdemeanor. If a person intentionally or knowingly causes serious bodily injury to a loved one, then the first offense is a Class C felony, which carries a maximum prison sentence of five (5) years and/or a fine not exceeding $10,000.
If a person intentionally or knowingly causes substantial or serious bodily injury to a loved one who is under 12 years of age, then the first offense is a Class B felony, punishable by imprisonment for up to ten (10) years and/or a maximum fine of $20,000.
Merely being arrested for domestic violence can result in being subject to an order of protection or restraining order. Having a domestic violence conviction on your criminal record can make it difficult to obtain/maintain employment or a professional license, as well as the loss of some of your rights, such as child custody rights and the right to carry a firearm.
Schedule a Free Consultation Today
Our firm understands that it is always possible to be falsely accused of domestic violence, especially if the accusing party has ulterior motives, such as winning a child custody dispute or intentionally damaging your reputation in spite. You may have also been defending yourself against a violent attack. Our legal team is here to help tell your side of the story and defend you against false accusations.
Call (701) 203-9220 for more information about our skilled and personalized legal services. Get a Minot domestic violence lawyer on your side!