Domestic Violence Attorney in Minot, ND
Ready to Protect Your Rights, Reputation & Freedom
At Rowenhorst Law we understand that disagreements can happen between spouses, significant others, or family members. Unfortunately, when an argument becomes physical, you may end up facing domestic violence charges in North Dakota. Getting convicted of this serious violent crime can lead to harsh criminal penalties and cause irreparable damage to your professional reputation and personal relationships.
If you are being accused of domestic violence, do not hesitate to let our legal team at Rowenhorst Law defend you today! Attorney Rowenhorst will work tirelessly to help you with your case. We can investigate your case, gather and analyze evidence, and negotiate with the prosecution on your behalf. Our firm has the resources and dedication to work hard for you and your case.
Contact us today at (701) 203-9220 for a free initial consultation. Learn how we can help you during this difficult time.
What is Domestic Violence?
Domestic violence occurs when a person willfully causes injury to a family or household member. Additionally, domestic violence can take the form of psychological abuse, sexual abuse, or even financial abuse.
In North Dakota, if a police officer has probable cause to believe that a person has committed a domestic violence offense, then the primary aggressor will be arrested. The officer does not have to witness the offense or find other witnesses to make an arrest.
What are the Penalties for Domestic Violence?
If a person intentionally or knowingly causes bodily injury to a loved one, then the first offense is considered a Class B misdemeanor, which carries a maximum jail term of 30 days and/or a fine of up to $1,500. A second or subsequent offense is a Class A misdemeanor, punishable by a jail sentence of up to 360 days and/or a maximum fine of $3,000.
If a person intentionally or knowingly causes substantial bodily injury to a loved one, then the first offense is a Class A misdemeanor. If a person intentionally or knowingly causes serious bodily injury to a loved one, then the first offense is a Class C felony, which carries a maximum prison sentence of five (5) years and/or a fine not exceeding $10,000.
If a person intentionally or knowingly causes substantial or serious bodily injury to a loved one who is under 12 years of age, then the first offense is a Class B felony, punishable by imprisonment for up to ten (10) years and/or a maximum fine of $20,000.
Having a domestic violence conviction on your criminal record can make it difficult to obtain/maintain employment or a professional license. Some of the other results can potentially be the loss of some of your rights, such as rights of child custody, the right to carry a firearm, and/or the right to bear arms.
Schedule a Free Consultation Today
At this time, our Minot law firm understands the state and federal laws that affect your domestic violence case. The penalties you are facing can be substantial, but Brandon Rowenhorst is ready to take on your case. Our legal team is here to help tell your side of the story and defend you to the best of our abilities.
Call (701) 203-9220 for more information about our skilled and personalized legal services. Get a Minot domestic violence lawyer on your side!